People

Director

Beverley Skeggs

Distinguished Professor of Sociology

Sociology

b.skeggs@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

Research and Engagement Lead

Michael Lambert

Postdoctoral Fellow in Social Inequalities

Sociology

m.lambert3@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

Members

Daisy May Barker

Doctoral Student in Sociology

Sociology

d.m.barker@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Michaela Benson

Professor of Public Sociology

Sociology

michaela.benson@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Karen Broadhurst

Professor of Social Work

Sociology

k.broadhurst@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Monika Büscher

Professor in Sociology

Sociology

m.buscher@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Laura Clancy

Lecturer in Media

Sociology

l.clancy2@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Francesca Coin

Senior Lecturer in Sociology

Sociology

f.coin@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Anne Cronin

Professor in Cultural Sociology

Sociology

a.cronin@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Stefanie Doebler

Lecturer in Social Statistics and Sociology

Sociology

s.doebler@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

Melissa Fernández Arrigoitia

Lecturer in Urban Futures

Sociology

m.fernandeza@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Jasmine Fledderjohann

Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Social Work

Sociology

j.fledderjohann@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Anne-Marie Fortier

Professor in Sociology

Sociology

a.fortier@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Chris Grover

Senior Lecturer in Social Policy

Sociology

c.grover@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Robert (Ted) Gutsche Jr

Senior Lecturer in Critical Digital Media Practice

Sociology

r.gutschejr@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Yang Hu

Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Data Science

Sociology

yang.hu@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Bob Jessop

Distinguished Professor of Sociology

Sociology

b.jessop@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Jadwiga Leigh

Senior Lecturer in Social Work

Sociology

j.leigh2@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Eva Li

Lecturer in Sociology

Sociology

eva.li@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Gwyneth Lonergan

Research Fellow

Sociology

g.lonergan@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Adam Mars

Doctoral Student in Health Services Research

Health Services Research

a.mars@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Claire Mason

Research Fellow

Sociology

c.mason@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Corinne May-Chahal

Professor of Social Work

Sociology

c.may-chahal@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Hannah Morgan

Senior Lecturer in Social Work

Sociology

h.morgan@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Lisa Morriss

Lecturer in Social Work

Sociology

lisa.morriss@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Maggie Mort

Emeritus Professor in Sociology

Sociology

m.mort@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Katie Podszus

Doctoral Student in Sociology

Sociology

k.podszus@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Andrew Sayer

Emeritus Professor in Social Theory

Sociology

a.sayer@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Ala Sirriyeh

Senior Lecturer in Sociology

Sociology

a.sirriyeh@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Imogen Tyler

Professor of Sociology

Sociology

i.tyler@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

 

 

 

Helen Wood

Professor of Media and Cultural Studies

Sociology

h.wood2@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Elena Zambelli

Senior Research Associate

Sociology

e.zambelli@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Honorary Members

Roger Haydon Mitchell

Honorary Researcher

Sociology

r.h.mitchell1@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Researching Inequalities

 

 

Ngai-Ling Sum

Honorary Researcher

Sociology

n.sum@lancaster.ac.uk

Profile

Recent Posts

Transforming Economies of Care

The second event in the Transforming Economies of Care seminar series focusing on finance took place on Monday 13 December. The slides used by Colin Haslam and Kevin Lucas are available and can be accessed by clicking on their names in this post. Although Kendra Strauss did not use slides, her paper drew upon her recent article:

Strauss, K. (2021). Beyond crisis? Using rent theory to understand the restructuring of publicly funded seniors’ care in British Columbia, Canada. Environment and Planning A: Economy and Spacehttps://doi.org/10.1177/0308518X20983152.

The next event organised by Distinguished Professor Bev Skeggs and Daisy Baker (Lancaster University), Dr Emma Dowling (University of Vienna) and Dr Amy Horton (University College London) will built on the first two in developing thinking and resources about the political economies of care.

On Monday 24 January 2021, 4-5.30pm (16.00-17.30 UK GMT) CASEI will be hosting the third event on ‘Platform Care’. This features contributions from Karin Schwiter (Assistant Professor in Labour Geography at the University of Zurich), Simon Yuill (artist, writer and software engineer) and Emma Back (founder of Equal Care) with Helen Hester (Professor of Gender, Technology and Cultural Politics at the University of West London) as discussant. The event will be convened virtually on Zoom in conjunction with The Sociological Review.

When people speak of gig economies they usually refer to transport and delivery sectors such as Uber and Deliveroo. Far less attention is given to platforms that advertise care workers. Yet these platforms have developed rapidly and now form a significant “marketplace” for a range of caring services ranging from nannies to dog walkers. They usually operate significant “gig” features such as a competition over rates of pay, no health or safety checks, and reliance on customer ratings and reviews. This session will discuss what happens to care workers when care becomes platformed, and also what happens to social responsibility on platforms with little accountability. Care work has already been subject to destruction of protections and privatisation through subcontracting agencies in which wages and conditions have “raced to the bottom”, a persistent devaluation globally of wages. The experience of the COVID-19 pandemic starkly revealed how the value of care work is rarely recognised, so what happens when it operates in similar ways to other labour that has been gigged and deskilled?

You can register for the seminar through Eventbrite here. Please direct any queries to Dr Michael Lambert (CASEI): m.lambert3@lancaster.ac.uk.

  1. Transforming Economies of Care Comments Off on Transforming Economies of Care
  2. Slavery Family Trees Conference Comments Off on Slavery Family Trees Conference
  3. Rethinking British Citizenship Podcast Talk Comments Off on Rethinking British Citizenship Podcast Talk
  4. Next Events Comments Off on Next Events
  5. Andrew Sayer’s Feschrift Comments Off on Andrew Sayer’s Feschrift
  6. Book Launch for Dr Laura Clancy’s ‘Running the Family Firm’ Comments Off on Book Launch for Dr Laura Clancy’s ‘Running the Family Firm’