July 27, 2018


The leadership team for Material Social Futures is:

Professor Richard Harper FIET, FRSA, Institute for Social Futures (Principal Investigator)

Professor Rob Short FTSE, Materials Science Institute

Professor Linda Woodhead MBE , Institute for Social Futures


This Leadership Team works closely with a Supervisory Committee from whom the PhD supervisors is drawn. These include: Professor Nigel Paul, of the Lancaster Environment Centre; Professor Nick Dunn of the Lancaster Institute for Creative Arts and the ISF; Professor Rebecca Braun, Dept of Languages and Culture and the ISF; Professor Gail Whiteman, Director of the Pentland Centre of Sustainability in Business in the Lancaster Management School; Professor Sandra Kemp of the Ruskin Centre and Professor Simon Batterbury, of the Environment Centre.

These will be further assisted by Dr Benjamin Robinson and Dr Samuel Jarvis, Dept of Physics and the MSI; Dr Nicola Spurling, Dept of Sociology and the ISF; Dr John Griffin, Dr John Hardy, Dr Kathryn Toghill and Dr Nuria Ruiz, Dept of Chemistry and the MSI; Dr Astrid Nordin, Dept of Politics, Philosophy and Religion and the ISF; Dr Mark Rouncefield, Reader, School of Computing and Communication and the ISF; Dr David Chelener and Dr Samuel Murphy, Dept of Engineering and the MSI; Dr Emily Spiers, Dept of Languages and Culture and the ISF; Dr Christopher Boyko and Dr Daniel Richards, ImaginationLancaster; Professor Adrian Friday, and Dr Mike Hazas of School of Computing and Communication and ISF; Dr Vesna Najdanovic, Dept of Engineering and MSI; and Dr Carlos Lopez-Galviz, Lancaster Institute of Contemporary Arts and the ISF. The panel of supervisors will evolve.